The Delaware Tourism Office (DTO) was recently recognized by Governor Jack Markell as a finalist for the 2010 Governor's Team Excellence Award, which honors groups of state employees for their efforts in leadership, team dynamics and communication to generate successful results, improved work processes and a positive impact on the State of Delaware.

"The Delaware Tourism Team's dedication, creativity, and collaborative efforts with industry partners over the past year has resulted in over $6.5 million in economic impact to the State of Delaware," said Governor Jack Markell. "This team has been innovative and resourceful in driving traffic to local businesses and, in a short time, has delivered results for Delaware."

"As one of the top economic drivers and employers in the State, the Delaware tourism industry is rapidly gaining national attention as an affordable, preferred travel destination," said Alan Levin, Director, Delaware Economic Development Office. "The Delaware Tourism Team's ingenuity and ability to leverage resources has lead to increased visitation and job creation in the tourism industry."

The Delaware Tourism Office, a division of the Delaware Economic Development Office, was restructured in the fall of 2009. The DTO, lead by Linda Parkowski, Director of Tourism, is a sales-driven, results-oriented team that attracts large volumes of out-of-state visitors to Delaware through targeted markets such as leisure, group tours, meetings and conventions, and sporting events. Some notable DTO initiatives include the establishment and promotion of the Delaware Wine and Ale Trail, the Delaware Geocaching Trail, and the Delaware Sports Commission.

Award recipients are as follows:

Linda Parkowski - Director of Tourism

Tina Madanat - Tourism Marketing & Public Relations Manager

Heather Kenton - Group Tour Development Leader

Ned Blair - Meetings & Conventions Development Leader

Matthew Sparks - Sports Development Leader

Kate Kreppein - Tourism and Grant Coordinator

Kathy Krasulak - Tourism Fulfillment Coordinator

Heath Bullock - Tourism Fulfillment Specialist

The Delaware Tourism Office, 99 Kings Highway in Dover, Del., a division of the Delaware Economic Development Office, promotes tourism and economic growth in Delaware. For more information, visit the official Delaware Tourism website at or call toll-free (866) 284-7483.

Attachment: Photo of DTO Award Recipients with the Governor and DEDO Director. The following are the names of individuals in the photo as they appear from left to right: Secretary Alan Levin (DEDO Director), Kate Kreppein, Kathy Krasulak, Heath Bullock, Matthew Sparks, Ned Blair, Tina Madanat, Governor Jack Markell, Linda Parkowski, and Heather Kenton.